Mercedes DTM Announces Exit After 2018 Season

Giancarlo Perlas July 25, 2017

mercedes dtm

Mercedes-AMG just announced that it will exit the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters or DTM after the 2018 season. However, the three-pointed star brand confirmed its entry into Formula E.

According to, the move of Mercedes DTM would mean that only two constructors will be left in the sport by 2019. Currently, Mercedes is only rivaled by Audi and BMW in DTM.

Mercedes DTM’s Fighting Spirit Remains Strong

Mercedes motorsport boss Toto Wolff assured everyone though that the planned exit would not mean they will be relaxing in their remaining seasons. Wolff said they will continue to gun for the titles as they owe it to the fans and to themselves.

Wolff thanked his team for their work during their involvement in DTM. He stated that every team member helped make Mercedes become the most successful DTM manufacturer of all time.

In October last year, Mercedes revealed that it is entering Formula E. Following that, the company and Formula E Holdings entered into an agreement for a debut in the season five series of the sport, which will run from 2018 to 2019. However, recent developments have driven the team to postpone their debut in season six. Wolff explained that the period would give them time to properly understand Formula E and ensure that their entry would be done in the right way.

Mercedes DTM History

Formula E focuses on electric-powered cars. The inaugural championship of the sport was in Beijing back in September 2014. Since its inception, there has been a growing list of companies that showed its interest in the organization. Mercedes will also be joining BMW and Audi in the all-electric race.

Mercedes traces back its history with DTM in 1988. Along the way, it produced title holders like Klaus Ludwig and Bernd Scheider. The German carmaker left the series in 1996 but returned to the current incarnation of the sport in 2000.

More success came for the team 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2006 when it continued racking titles. Gary Paffett, Paul di Rest and Pascal Wehrlein were notable titleholders produced by Mercedes in the modern-day DTM.

Tagged with: , , ,

About Author

Giancarlo Perlas

Giancarlo Perlas is an economist by profession with a career spanning nearly two decades. His professional journey has seen him assume vital roles in various government and private organizations, particularly in the blockchain and cryptocurrency sectors. Alongside his civic and corporate pursuits is his love for cars, particularly those made by Mercedes-Benz. In 2012, he found himself with like-minded individuals within BenzInsider. From then on, he used the platform as a way to share his passion with the automotive community. Follow his Facebook page at, X (formerly Twitter) @giancarloperlas, and IG @benzinsider. View all posts by Giancarlo Perlas →

Leave a Comment

Login to your account

Can't remember your Password ?

Register for this site!