Maximum EuroNCAP safety rating for the E-Class, GLK and C-Class

Muamer Hodzic December 1, 2009

No less than three Mercedes model series at once have achieved the highest rating of five stars in the more stringent EuroNCAP test – the E-Class, GLK and C-Class. During the course of its development to date, the new E-Class has successfully come through over 150 high-speed crash tests and more than 5000 realistic crash simulations. These not only included the various impact configurations prescribed for rating tests and worldwide operating approvals, but also the in-house, Mercedes crash tests derived from accident research findings.

The EuroNCAP organization (European New Car Assessment Program) has made its test conditions more stringent this year. All the individual tests are separately rated and consolidated to produce an overall result. Front occupant protection accounts for 50 percent of the result, child and pedestrian protection for 20 percent each, and the new test criterion of driver assistance systems for 10 percent.

Tagged with:

Comments (1)

Login to your account

Can't remember your Password ?

Register for this site!